Discussion: View Thread

The Impact of Your Culture in Your Leadership

• 1.  The Impact of Your Culture in Your Leadership

Posted 09-17-2018 09:43 PM

A Thank You to Bob Augustine for the invitation to collaborate in this discussion thread with a brief post. Currently, I am an Assistant Professor at Texas Christian University.  I wanted to share some food for thought based on my experience in leadership. 

During my academic journey, I have learned that culture impacts leadership in a meaningful way.  This is something that is particularly experienced when the leader is culturally and linguistically diverse. As a culturally and linguistically diverse faculty member, I have experienced many challenges during my academic years.  What I have learned of leadership from my home culture and what I have learned of leadership from the mainstream US culture has shaped my leadership role.