Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  A little challenge/inspiration at the end of a busy week...

Posted 02-08-2019 10:06 AM
    I wanted to share this message I sent to a former professor this past October and his response. Maybe it will inspire you to reach out and thank someone who was pivotal in your career trajectory.

Dr. Moore,

My name is Kathy Shapley, I doubt you remember me. I took your analytical chemistry course back in the late 80's. I was a shy girl, but was strong in math and science. I didn't go to the best high school. I was a first generation college student, and wasn't confident in my abilities. Although I made the Dean's list the first six semesters of college, my default answer whenever I was called on in any class was "I don't know". One day in class you looked at me and said "Miss Shapley that answer is not good enough today. We will stay here until you work this problem all the way through". I wanted to run from the room; but instead I worked the problem all the way through and after class you said to me, "see you do know, do you understand why I did that?"

I did understand. You were helping me find my voice. After completing my degree in Chemistry and working in the field for a couple of years, I went back to school for a masters in speech language pathology. After six years of clinical practice, the scientist in me led me back to school for a Ph.D.

In 2003, I received my PhD in Speech Language Pathology and a second Masters (in applied statistics, because after all I did know I was a math/science girl) from the University of Nebraska Lincoln. I worked in industry (research/test development) for six years before accepting a position in academia.